MY DREAMS ARE MADE OF..

katharine-hepburn-portraitHey y’all,

I’m really sleepy right now because I have had a long and active work week. Today, I killed 2 auditions on 2 hours of sleep after completing my video for the NBC Diversity Showcase. I had been working up to my filming the video all week so I was busy with many errands, other auditions, hair preparation, working on my voiceover demo, and working out. So yeah now I’m about to go to bed and wake up tomorrow for another audition, more errands, and going to work a spokes-modeling job. But quickly I just wanted to talk about my dreams.

Since I was about 12, I knew I wanted to pursue acting seriously so I have been technically acting for half my life now. When I was a toddler, I went to dance classes, performed on stage, did some modeling, and a pageant (which I don’t remember because I was an infant). While I was acting in school plays and independent films, I was also in my school dance company. As I moved into high school, I became a cheerleader, was winning awards at UIL writing competitions and theatre festivals, and continued acting in school plays. I was always busy being active, in competitions, doing extra curricular activities, cheering, and mostly stayed home while other kids were going out more. As I reached my junior year in high school, I decided I wanted to move to Los Angeles to pursue acting professionally. I also wanted to go to college so I picked a few schools in LA to be in a position to accomplish more of those goals simultaneously.

I moved to LA at the tail end of my senior year and began my life. By this time, I shifted more into modeling during that whole transition. I modeled and acted in the university plays, in student films, and a few featured background gigs throughout college and well into my life right after college. I graduated college and moved to Hollywood.

I eventually started working with a tv/film agent along with the commercial agent I already had. The auditions were creeping in more and more! By auditioning so many times for professional productions, I was exposed first hand to how the whole industry works as far as casting. I got better at auditioning and was living a much healthier lifestyle. I soon realized that modeling was not bringing me to the type of life I wanted. I got tired of the modeling life because I was not auditioning for the type of roles and projects I wanted to work within.

Long story short, I switched modeling to the back burner and transitioned acting back into the forefront. Ever since then, I have been developing my acting technique, working on my voice, all types of dance techniques, working out, eating more healthily, taking my time to rest here & there, and to network & be social when possible. I fell in love with a wonderful man, continuously worked my ass off, and the time went by blissfully for the last two years. And now I’m here. Writing in this blog 🙂

Wow, I really just summed up so many life details in only a few paragraphs!

-Vashé

