Frontin’

The mood was tense but cold. Calm but attentive. He hadn’t seen her in 5 months and kept calling her by phone out of curiosity. She finally decided to pick up. She wanted to know where his head was at and why he was calling. He was an hour late trying to play it cool. Boy this guy was a piece of work.

uktv-skins-fire-week-28-stills-5

Wendy: “Is there a reason why you’re late?”

Aaron: “Yeah, traffic! And I didn’t know I had to be exact.”

She sighs in annoyance. There is a silence.

Aaron: “I made you a stuffed tomato with all organic vegetables and ground turkey.”

Wendy: “Thanks,” she says swiftly. She takes the dish and puts it on a plate. Walks around to the couch, sits, and prepares to eat the small dish. There is another pause of uncertainty.

Aaron: “So, what do you wanna know?”

Wendy has bitten into the tomato dish. While she clears her palette, “I wanna know what’s on your mind.”

He looks around unsure and nervous. He continues, “How candid do you want me to be?”

Wendy: “You gotta start somewhere.”

*Long tense pause* Aaron is thinking… But finally…

Aaron: “I just want to say, I apologize for you being in pain and me being the cause of that pain. I also appreciate things about you now that I probably didn’t appreciate in the past… I’ll just leave it at that.”

Wendy: “Well, that’s good to hear,” she says with a positive tone as she finishes a bite. She is pleased to hear this from him but keeps a poker face. |

